The Henrico County School Board will have three new members and two familiar faces.

Three of the board’s five members — John Montgomery, Beverly Cocke and Bill Pike — didn’t seek re-election this year. Two incumbents — Fairfield District’s Roscoe D. Cooper III and Three Chopt District’s Micky Ogburn — were on the ballot and retained their seats.

The winners are now tasked with deciding new school zones for the county, a controversial process that school officials hope will alleviate overcrowding in some schools, among other goals.

Brookland District

University of Richmond outreach coordinator Jackson Carter Knox squared off against small-business owner Kristi Kinsella.

They were both looking to replace Cocke, who has represented the Brookland District since 2011.

Kinsella won with 57% of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Virginia Department of Elections.

“I’m looking forward to making a difference in our children’s lives,” Kinsella said, adding that she’d focus on teacher retention and working with constituents. “Their voices need to be heard.”

Knox did not return a request for comment.

Fairfield District

In the Fairfield District, Cooper, the current vice chairman of the board, ran against Keith Hicks and won re-election.

He received 64% of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Virginia Department of Elections.

“It is what it is,” said Hicks. “We put our best foot forward.”

Cooper did not return multiple requests for comment.

Three Chopt District

Ogburn was running in an uncontested race. She won easily and did not return a request for comment Tuesday night.

Tuckahoe District

The Tuckahoe District featured a two-way race between a teacher and health care administrator.

Marcie Shea, a former teacher at Douglas S. Freeman High School in Henrico, ran against Melissa Dart to replace Pike, who was appointed to the seat last year. Lisa Marshall resigned in August 2018 due to health issues.

Shea won with 56% of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Virginia Department of Elections.

“I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and get work done,” Shea said Tuesday night.

Dart did not return a request for comment.

Varina District

The most contested race was in the Varina District, where four people hoped to fill the seat left vacant by the current School Board chairman.

Policy analyst Joyce Davis, special education advocate Kandise Lucas, child care center owner Michelle Henderson and health care administrator Alicia Atkins were on the ballot. Montgomery was first elected in 2007.

Atkins, who did not return multiple phone calls Tuesday night, won with 44% of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Virginia Department of Elections. Davis came in second at 22% and Henderson was third with 22%. Lucas received 12%.

(804) 649-6012

Twitter: @jmattingly306

Politics/Education Reporter

Justin Mattingly covers state government and education. A northern New York native and a Syracuse University alumnus, he's worked at the RTD since 2017. You can follow him on Twitter at @jmattingly306.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.

Your RTD Sports Plus digital subscription does not include access to this section.

Upgrade to full digital and have unlimited access to If you need assistance, call us at (800) 468-3382.

To start a new subscription or to activate digital access included in your print subscription, click the Sign Up button below. You can choose between Subscriber Plus, and receive unlimited access to, or Sports Plus for access to our exclusive sports coverage.

Already a digital subscriber? Click Log In.

Need help? Click here or call (800) 468-3382.

Learn more about Subscriber Plus or Sports Plus.