Gov. Ralph Northam has made new appointments to college governing boards across the state.

The new appointments are:

Christopher Newport University board of visitors

  • Robert R. “Bobby” Hatten of Newport News, managing partner of Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein L.C. (reappointment)
  • Steve Kast of Poquoson, president and CEO, United Way of the Virginia Peninsula (reappointment)
  • Raymond Willis Jr. of Suffolk, CEO, Heritage Development Partners LLC

College of William & Mary board of visitors

  • Mari Carmen Aponte of Washington, retired
  • James A. Hixon of Virginia Beach, retired (reappointment)
  • Charles E. Poston of Norfolk, retired judge, 4th Judicial Circuit
  • Karen Kennedy Schultz of Winchester, professor and director, Center for Public Service and Scholarship, Shenandoah University (reappointment)

George Mason University board of visitors

  • Simmi Bhuller of Falls Church, executive director, Politico
  • Juan Carlos Iturregui of Bethesda, Md., partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
  • Mehmood S. Kazmi of Great Falls, director, Office of Business Development, U.S. Agency for Global Media
  • Carolyn J. Moss of McLean, retired from Dominion Energy; former Virginia secretary of administration

James Madison University board of visitors

  • Jeffrey Grass of Arlington, CEO, Hungry Marketplace Inc.; chairman, LiveSafe, Inc. (reappointment)
  • Matthew A. Gray-Keeling of Richmond, Virginia state director, Humane Society of the United States (reappointment)
  • Maria Jankowski of Richmond, deputy director, Virginia Indigent Defense Commission (reappointment)
  • Deborah Tompkins Johnson of Prince William, regional policy director, Dominion Energy (reappointment)
  • Craig B. Welburn of Manassas, CEO, ECC Enterprises Holding Co. LLC (reappointment)

Longwood University board of visitors

  • Michael A. Evans of Mechanicsville, retired local government executive (reappointment)
  • David H. Hallock Jr. of Richmond, president, Two Capitols Consulting (reappointment)
  • Cookie Scott of Chesterfield, retired, former deputy director, Virginia Department of Corrections

Norfolk State University board of visitors

  • Mary Blunt of Chesapeake, senior corporate vice president, Sentara Healthcare
  • Kim W. Brown of Chesapeake, presiding bishop, Mount Global Fellowship of Churches
  • Michael J. Helpinstill of Williamsburg (reappointment)
  • Harry Watkins of Richmond, principal, HarryCo; co-owner, Bateau

Old Dominion University board of visitors

  • Yvonne Toms Allmond of Norfolk, executive vice president, TowneBank (reappointment)
  • Robert Broermann of Virginia Beach, chief financial officer, Sentara Healthcare
  • Peter G. Decker III of Norfolk, attorney, Decker Law Firm
  • MacArthur DeShazer Sr. of Woodbridge, president and CEO, Aethiops Business Solutions LLC

Radford University board of visitors

  • Mark S. Lawrence of Roanoke, vice president of governmental and external affairs, Carilion Clinic (reappointment)
  • David Smith of Roanoke, territory sales manager, Altria Group Distribution Co.
  • Lisa Throckmorton of Vienna, executive vice president, REQ (reappointment)

State Board for Community Colleges

  • David Broder of Fairfax, president, SEIU Virginia 512 (reappointment)
  • Douglas Garcia of Alexandria, senior manager, ETS HiSET (reappointment)
  • RJ Narang of McLean, president and CEO, Renegade Technology Systems Inc.
  • Richard S. Reynolds III of Goochland, president, Richard S. Reynolds Foundation, Missionary Emergency Fund; managing partner, Reynolds Trusts
  • Terri Thompson of Chesapeake, financial consultant

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

  • Marianne M. Radcliff of Richmond, president, Kemper Consulting Inc.
  • Katharine M. Webb of Richmond, former senior vice president, Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association (reappointment)

University of Mary Washington board of visitors

  • Heather Mullins Crislip of Richmond, president and CEO, Housing Opportunities Made Equal of Virginia (reappointment)
  • Deborah A. Santiago of Arlington, CEO, Excelencia in Education
  • Rhonda VanLowe of Reston (reappointment)

University of Virginia board of visitors

  • Whittington W. Clement of Richmond, special counsel, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP (reappointment)
  • Louis S. Haddad of Suffolk, president and CEO, Armada Hoffler Properties
  • Angela Hucles Mangano of Los Angeles, real estate professional, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
  • James V. Reyes of Washington, president, Reyes Holdings LLC (reappointment)

Virginia Commonwealth University board of visitors

  • Pamela K. El of St. Petersburg, Fla., CEO, Pam El Consulting
  • Carolina Espinal of Arlington, founding principal, Mozaic Strategies LLC
  • Coleen Santa Ana of Elizabeth City, N.C., president, Sentara Albemarle Medical Center
  • Alexis N. Swann of Yorktown
  • Shantaram Talegaonkar of North Chesterfield, retired ophthalmologist (reappointment)

Virginia Military Institute board of visitors

  • Lara Tyler Chambers of Manakin-Sabot, co-owner, Tyler Development Group (reappointment)
  • Michael L. Hamlar of Roanoke, owner and president, Hamlar-Curtis Funeral Home
  • David L. Miller of Brentwood, Tenn., retired president and chief operating officer, Community Health Systems (reappointment)
  • Gene Scott of Richmond, retired regional vice president, Verizon (reappointment)

Virginia Tech board of visitors

  • C.T. Hill of Manakin-Sabot, retired, SunTrust (reappointment)
  • Sharon Brickhouse Martin of Fairfax, president, Brickhouse Martin Healthcare Engineering
  • Melissa Byrne Nelson of Richmond, pediatrician, Pediatric Associates of Richmond

Virginia State University board of visitors

  • Michael Flemming of Alexandria, general counsel, Smithfield Foods Inc. (reappointment)
  • Raul R. Herrera of Burke, attorney, Arnold & Porter LLP
  • Glenn D. Sessoms of Cordova, Tenn., retired, FedEx (reappointment)
  • Wayne Turnage of Washington, deputy mayor for health and human services (reappointment)

Get the Virginia Politics Insider email update every evening during the GA and weekly all year

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.