Powhatan's J.D. McMillin.

Fresh off an undefeated campaign at the Virginia Duals, which included defeating 2018 state champion Cole McCormick, J.D. McMillin is determined to keep his momentum going this season.

“I know I’ve got to beat the man that I beat last year: Dillon Werth. It was the regional finals, triple overtime match, but then I lost to him in the state finals,” McMillin told Nick Vandeloecht of Powhatan Today. I’m prepared and ready to battle it out, take what I want, which is a state title.”

Not only has McMillin overcome some tough opponents on the mat, but he grapples with the inability to hear off of it.

McMillin was born deaf and has worn cochlear implants since he was a toddler. However, when it’s his time to go to battle with some of the top-tier wrestling talents in the area, he chooses not to use them.

He wrestles in complete silence.

McMillin is aware that most in his situation wouldn’t elect to lose a sense, especially in the midst of a competitive sporting event, but McMillin isn’t like most.

“It helps me focus; I don’t have to worry about screaming parents, referees, or other coaches. I focus on myself, what I need to get done, and how to win my match.”

After earning the title of Outstanding Wrestler in the Black and Blue High School division (first in Powhatan High School history) McMillin is poised to continue his reign as one of the top 120-pounders in the state.

Individual wrestling rankings

106: 1. Erik Roggie (St. Christopher’s); 2. Evan Holloway (New Kent); 3. Caleb Oberly (Thomas Dale); 4. James Haynie (Atlee)

113: 1. Brendan Barnes (Benedictine); 2. Luke Hart (St. Christopher’s); 3. Daniel Colgin (New Kent)

120: 1. JD McMillin (Powhatan); 2. Raymond Goode (New Kent); 3. Nick Garcia (Matoaca)

126: 1. Evan Buchanan (Atlee); 2. Dominic Baker (New Kent); 3. Gavin Timmons (Powhatan); 4. Damian Thayer (Cosby)

132: 1. Nick Vafiadis (New Kent); 2. Mason Dubois (St. Christopher’s); 3. John Bolstad (Midlothian); 4. RJ May (Maggie Walker)

138: 1. Connor Alexander (St. Christopher’s); 2. Travis Ragland (New Kent); 3. Marshall Campbell (Collegiate); 4. Liam Souder (Cosby)

145: 1. Noah Ruolo (Matoaca); 2. Seth Wagner (St. Christopher’s); 3. Colby Cheatham (Powhatan); 4. Nathaniel Fly (New Kent)

152: 1. Ethan Carpenter (Monacan); 2. Zane Cox (Benedictine); 3. Gannon Jones (New Kent); 4. Jameson Knotts (St. Christopher’s)

160: 1. CJ Griffith (Benedictine); 2. Charlie Stanton (Mills Godwin); 3. John Flood (St. Christopher’s)

170: 1. Simeone Holmes (Cosby); 2. Loudon Hurt (St. Christopher’s); 3. Ryan Tremain (Benedictine)

182: 1. Jackson Turley (St. Christopher’s); 2. Andy Aldridge (Lee-Davis)

195: 1. Dylan Montgomery (Lee-Davis); 2. Jacob Moss (Powhatan)

220: 1. Julian Dixon (LC Bird)

285: 1. Dillon Farmer (Lee Davis); 2. Kyle Starrett (JR Tucker); 3. Buddy Whitecotton (New Kent); 4. Ethen Murphy (Cosby)

Recommended for you

Commenting is limited to Times-Dispatch subscribers. To sign up, click here.
If you’re already a subscriber and need to activate your access or log in, click here.

Load comments

You must be a full digital subscriber to read this article You must be a digital subscriber to view this article.